Ronny Graupe – The White Belt (2016) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Ronny Graupe – The White Belt (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 42:41 minutes | 819 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Pirouet Records

Jazz’n More magazine’s Reiner Kobe calls the Berlin guitarist German guitarist Ronny Graupe “one of the most promising talents in German jazz” who is “on the right path with his ideal lineup”. That lineup call themselves also Spoom, a group name Graupe conjured from the combined sounds and ideas of a creative “big bang” and ocean spray. Musical partners since 2004, Graupe, bassist Jonas Westergaard and drummer Christian Lillinger have already made their mark on the jazz scene. On The White Belt, Spoom’s second album for PIROUET, Graupe and co masterfully approach their music as a new beginning.

In martial arts the white belt is the one worn by the novice. eventually moved to Berlin where he has become a linchpin For Ronny Graupe, “it is the most important belt of all, since it stands for openness and questioning; when you are a beginner you can’t fall back on what you already know.

This also goes for music. The White Belt represents the road you have in front of you, the one you are about to travel.” He’s taking that road alongside two long-time musical companions with like minds and impressive credentials. Danish bassist Jonas Westergaard and Graupe began their musical relationship when they attended Rytmisk Music Conservatory in Copenhagen. Graupe says, “The first time I heard him, I knew we would play together.” Since then Jonas has spent time in New York, worked with such major players as Tim Berne, Herb Robertson, Oliver Lake, and in the contemporary music scene. Graupe marvels that drummer Christian Lillinger “has an energy that brings everything to a different level.” Called a “drum revolutionary” by the prestigious DER SPIEGEL magazine, Lillinger has worked with such greats as Rolf and Joachim Kühn, Alexander von Schlippenbach and John Tchicai, and his 2015 PIROUET album Grund received critical acclaim. As for Ronny Graupe, London Jazz News described Graupe’s playing as veering “from percussive riffs to white noise. Sometimes he played long lines behind the others, or the blues, or distorted, rock-edged phrases… precision, virtuosity and playfulness.” His work credentials include Richie Beirach, Joachim Kühn, Chris Speed and Pablo Held. …

1. Kappler Drehe 03:10
2. Szene auf dem Lande 03:25
3. Sunset Setting 09:35
4. Elfenau 05:26
5. The White Belt 05:23
6. Conduct 06:54
7. Iberia 04:00
8. Aniol 04:48

Ronny Graupe, guitar
Jonas Westergaard, bass
Christian Lillinger, drums