Rudolf Buchbinder, Wiener Philharmoniker, Zubin Mehta – Brahms: Piano Concertos (2016) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Johannes Brahms – Piano Concertos – Rudolf Buchbinder, Wiener Philharmoniker, Zubin Mehta (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 01:30:32 minutes | 780 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Sony Music
Recorded: Musikverein,Vienna, March 2015

“It is not every day that Brahms sounds so perfect as this,” enthuses the Kurier newspaper, describing Buchbinder’s performance with the Vienna Philharmonic. The “phenomenal piano virtuoso” (Kurier) plays the First and Second Piano Concertos of Johannes Brahms in the Golden Hall of the Vienna Musikverein with Maestro Zubin Mehta, who has long been intensively associated both with the orchestra and with soloist Rudolf Buchbinder.

Brahms’s piano concertos constantly demand from the pianist a wide range of interpretational refinement alongside a very high level of concentration and considerable technical skill. A challenge which Rudolf Buchbinder easily achieves: “Buchbinder’s tour de force earned him cheers” (Die Presse). “What Rudolf Buchbinder, the Vienna Philharmonic and conductor Zubin Mehta delivered at the Musikverein easily deserves the accolade ‘milestone’.” (Kurier)


Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Piano Concerto No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 15
1. I. Maestroso 21’16
2. II. Adagio 11’06
3. III. Allegro non troppo 11’35

Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-Flat Major, Op. 83
4. I. Allegro non troppo 17’08
5. II. Allegro appassionato 9’03
6. III. Andante 11’23
7. IV. Allegretto grazioso 9’02

Rudolf Buchbinder, piano
Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
Zubin Mehta, conductor