Sarah Buechi – Contradiction Of Happiness (2018) [e-Onkyo FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Sarah Buechi – Contradiction Of Happiness (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 57:06 minutes | 634 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: e-Onkyo | Front Cover | © Intakt Records

After “Flying Letters” and “Shadow Garden”, Sarah Buechi is releasing her third album on Intakt Records, “Contradiction of Happiness”. She has seized the opportunity to take her music in a new direction, and has augmented her superb quartet – with pianist Stefan Aeby, bassist André Pousaz and drummer Lionel Friedli – with the addition of three string players.

“The results are extremely convincing.” writes Manfred Papst in the liner notes. “She demonstrates once again that her compositions are far more than run-of-the mill songs with verses, rhymes and a chorus. They are ingeniously structured mini-dramas in which complex stories are told in a confined space. They are poetically dense, with vocal beauty and an enormous spectrum of expression. Their music is sophisticated, thoughtful, but also very sensual. The wonderful ‘After We’ve Kissed’ on the new album is the best example of this.“

01 – Child of Our Times
02 – Never Enough
03 – After We’ve Kissed
04 – Fahamore (Paradise)
05 – Wheel of Temptation
06 – Here and Now
07 – The Word
08 – Snow Trail
09 – Schönschte Obigstärn

Produced by Sarah Buechi and Intakt Records.
Recorded by Andy Neresheimer at Hardstudios Winterthur on June 8-10, 2017.
Mixed and Mastered by Martin Ruch, Berlin.

Sarah Buechi – vocals
Stefan Aeby – piano
André Pousaz – double bass
Lionel Friedli – drums
Estelle Beiner – violin
Isabelle Gottraux – viola
Sara Oswald – cello