Violaine Cochard & Edouard Ferlet – Plucked’N Dance (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Violaine Cochard & Édouard Ferlet – Plucked’N Dance (2018) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 48:22 minutes | 1,0 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Alpha

A journey through countries, periods and styles on the theme of dance. The themes and melodies are borrowed from Spanish, Turkish, Russian, Italian, English, Hungarian and French composers, inspired by folk music and dances. Édouard Ferlet has used this music to compose new pieces, arranged for harpsichord and piano. There are no direct quotations here, rather a thread which is woven between these well-known melodies and a new musical vocabulary. In each piece Violaine Cochard and Edouard Ferlet improvise freely, each with their individual ‘temperament’ and sensibility. They work on sonority, texture, the exploration of sound palettes, specialization, phrasing, distillation. The two artists seek to develop sonic possibilities, articulations, playing techniques and interaction between their musical personalities. A special feature is their work on pulse and tempo, with compound meters linked with the rhythms of folksongs and dances, which are often in compound time. Each piece is underpinned by an individual dramaturgy; the melodies are immediately appealing because they remind us of something while surprising us with jazz and contemporary arrangements.

1. Bartok’ N Roll 05:57
2. Les cinq sauvages 04:01
3. Entre ciel 04:07
4. Envoûtés 05:28
5. Danse de profil 03:06
6. Le bal éthylic 04:10
7. Ombre d’or 03:31
8. Valse blanche 03:39
9. Qui-vive 04:11
10. Révérence 04:33
11. Oppidum 05:39

Violaine Cochard (harpsichord)
Edouard Ferlet (piano)